© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Index
  * Préface
  * Evangiles
  * Sondages
  * Le nom
  * Identification
  * Description
  * Périodes
  * Habitants
  * Synagogue s.4
  * Synagogue s.1
  * Ins. siècle
  * Maisons
  * Domus-ecclesia
  * L'église
  * Conclusion

 FOUILLES
 * 2000 - 2003

 ARTICLES
 * Maison de St Pierre
 
  * Image 1
  * Image 2
  * Image 3
  * Image 4

LE VILLAGE: DESCRIPTION

Les ruines de l'ancien Capharnaüm couvrent approximativement une zone de six hectares (60.000 mètres carrés). Le village s'étendait sur quelque 300 m de l'est à l'ouest le long du lac (ses limites orientales extrêmes se trouvant dans la partie où s'élève l'église grecque-orthodoxe) et sur quelque 200 m du sud au nord, soit du lac jusqu'aux collines.

A view

Dans sa plus grande expansion, au cours de la période byzantine, Capharnaüm pouvait facilement compter 1.500 habitants. Toute évaluation de la population durant la période hellénistique et le début de la période romaine est encore prématurée. La population de Capharnaüm était certainement de loin inférieure à celle des grandes villes du lac; ainsi, selon Flavius Josèphe, Magdala comptait plus de 40.000 habitants lors de la première guerre juive. Toutefois, le village jouissait d'une situation privilégiée, grâce à ses ressources économiques: la pêche, l'agriculture, l'industrie et le commerce. Par ailleurs, Capharnaüm était une ville frontière pourvue d'une douane (Mc 2,13-15), sur la grand-route impériale de Damas. C'était aussi la seule localité sur la rive nord-ouest du lac, à 5 km du haut Jourdain, qui marquait la frontière entre la tétrarchie dHérode Antipas et le Golan, au-delà de la rivière, attribué à Philippe, son frère. La grand-route impériale longeait vraisemblablement le côté nord du village; en effet, à 100 m environ au nord-est de la synagogue et près d'un mausolée monumental, on a trouvé en 1975 une borne milliaire, qui portait l'inscription suivante:

IMPERATOR CAESAR DIVI TRAIANI PARTHICI FILIUS DIVI NERVAE NEPOS TRAIANUS ADRIANUS AUGUSTUS L'empereur César, du divin Traianus Parthicus le fils, du divin Nerva le petit-fils, Traianus Adrianus Augustus...

roman milestone

Large image

Capharnaüm devait avoir des relations commerciales importantes avec les rêgions du nord: la Haute Galilée, le Golan, la Syrie, la Phénicie, l'Asie Mineure et Chypre. Cette conclusion se fonde sur l'étude des monnaies et de la vaisselle importée de ces régions, et trouvées à Capharnaüm. Par contre, il est étonnant de constater la pauvreté des relations que le village entretenait avec le centre et le sud de la Palestine, ainsi qu'avec l'Afrique.

La présence d'un détachement de soldats romains à Capharnaüm (Le 7,1-10; Mt 8,5-13) souligne l'importance du village en tant que carrefour pour les nombreux voyageurs qui entraient dans la tétrarchie d'Hérode Antipas ou la quittaient. En outre, Capharnaüm contrôlait une bande d'au moins 8 km de la rive du lac, depuis les sources appelées à présent et-Tabgha jusqu'au haut Jourdain. Même aujourd'hui ce côté du lac est particulièrement riche en poissons. Ce n'est pas un hasard si plusieurs disciples de Jésus étaient pêcheurs. Il est d'ailleurs significatif que Pierre et son frère André aient quitté leur ville natale de Bethsaïde, de l'autre côté du lac, et se soient installés à Capharnaüm, comme un endroit mieux approprié à leur activité de pêcheurs.

ExcavationsL'agriculture connaissait un grand développement. Les fouilles ont mis au jour des pressoirs d'olives, des meules à blé et à céréales, des mortiers, des coupes et des cratères en pierre, etc. Ces instruments, faits surtout de basalte, étaient fabriqués à Capharnaüm même, comme en témoignent plusieurs pièces inachevées; il étaient considérés comme un précieux héritage familial. La manufacture de la vaisselle en verre constituait une autre activité industrielle du village.

Une bonne partie de l'ancien village a été fouillée depuis 1968, ce qui permet d'avoir un aperçu des quartiers habités. La terrasse de la synagogue est un endroit idéal pour qui veut se faire une image de la description suivante. Les maisons privées fouillées jusqu'à présent sont plutôt modestes, mais nullement pauvres, du moins si l'on tient compte du niveau de vie d'un ancien village. Elles ne révèlent pas non plus de profondes différences économiques. Les pierres locales de basalte volcanique dans leur état naturel servaient à la construction des murs et des pavements. Les murs ne possédaient pas de réelles fondations, et les maisons sans étage pouvaient difficilement atteindre plus de 3 m de hauteur, autant qu'on puisse en juger d'après les escaliers retrouvés, qui menaient au toit. Les assises bien régulières étaient liées par de petits cailloux et de la terre, mais sans l'aide d'un mortier compact, au moins pendant les périodes hellénistique et romaine. Même les habitants de l'époque byzantine n'ont utilisé le mortier que dans quelques cas, et non d'une façon régulière.

Des toits légers, faits de poutres de bois et de terre battue mélangée à de la paille, recouvraient les salles basses des maisons; on y accédait par des marches de pierre placées dans les cours à ciel ouvert.

Dwellings of Capharnaum

Les maisons privées se composaient de plusieurs unités, suivant un modèle standard, à quelques petites différences près. Plusieurs salles couvertes d'un toit entouraient une grande cour à ciel ouvert. Cette cour représentait, en réalité, le coeur d'une maison.

Ses dimensions assez importantes, comparées à celles des petites salles couvertes, étaient dictées par les conditions climatiques de Capharnaüm, où la température estivale habituelle avoisine les 35 degrés. Us salles basses des maisons recevaient le jour à travers une série de fenêtres qui donnaient sur la cour intérieure. Elles servaient de refuges pour la nuit, au moins pendant la saison des pluies, et de locaux où les habitants gardaient leurs effets; mais la plupart des activités de la vie quotidienne avaient lieu dans la cour. Ainsi, les meules et les fours sont toujours retrouvés dans la cour. C'est là que les femmes préparaient le repas et que les artisans travaillaient; c'est probablement là aussi que les gens avaient l'habitude de dormir durant l'été, couchés sur des nattes à même le soi.

Il n'existait pas de toilettes ni de système d'écoulement des eaux, etc. On ne trouve pas non plus à Capharnaüm de citernes comme à Korazin, ni de silos souterrains comme à Nazareth. Cette absence s'explique par la proximité du lac.

De la rue, une seule porte donnait accès à la cour, que bordaient plusieurs salles de ce type de maison; deux ou trois familles se les partageaient et y menaient une vie de genre patriarcal.

Courtyard

plan of excavations



© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capharnaum principal Autres Sanctuaries 


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created/Updated October, 2005 by John Abela ofm, E.Bermejo, E.Alliata, Marina Mordin
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer

© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Main
  * Welcome
  * Gospels
  * Surveys
  * Name
  * Identific.
  * Village
  * Occupation
  * Inhabitants
  * 4 cent. Syn.
  * 1 cent. Syn.
  * Insula
  * Houses
  * Domus Eccl.
  * Church
  * Conclusion

 EXCAVATIONS
  * 2000 - 2003


 ARICLES
  * The House
 
  * Pictures 1
  * Pictures 2
  * Pictures 3
  * Pictures 4

THE VILLAGE -description

The ruins of ancient Capharnaum cover approximately an area of 6 hectares (60,000 square m). The village stretched for about 300 m from E to W along the lake shore, the easternmost limits being in the area where the Greek-Orthodox church is built, and for some 200 m from S to N, i.e. from the lake shore to the hills.

A view

In the maximum expansion during the Byzantine period, Capharnaum could easily number some 1,500 inhabitants. Any assessment of the population is still premature as far as the other periods of occupations are concerned. To be sure, Capharnaum was by far inferior to the large cities of the lake; for example, according to Josephus Flavius, Magdala held a population of more than 40,000 persons during the first Jewish war. Yet, the village enjoyed a privileged position, its economic resources being fishing, agriculture, industry and trade. To start with, Capharnaum was a border-town provided with customs (Mc 2:13-15) along the main imperial highway leading to Damascus. It was also the only settlement on the NW shore of the lake, 5 km from the upper Jordan river which marked the border between the Tetrarchy of Herod Antipas and the Golan across the river assigned to Philip.

Most probably the imperial highway bypassed the N flank of the village; in fact some 100 m NE of the synagogue and close to a monumental mausoleum a milestone was found in 1975 bearing the following inscription:

IMPERATOR - "The Emperor
CAESAR DIVI - Caesar of the divine
TRAIANI PARTHICI - Traianus Particus
FILIUS DIVI NERVAE - son - of the divine Nerva
NEPOS - TRAIANUS - nephew, Traianus
ADRIANUS AUGUSTUS...- Adrianus Augustus..."

Capharnaum was commercially linked in a prominent way with the northern regions, i. e. upper Galilee, Golan, Syria, Phoenicia, Asia Minor and Cyprus. This conclusion is based on the study of the coins and of the imported vessels so far found in Capharnaum. To the contrary, contacts with central and southern Palestine were surprisingly scanty.

The presence of a detachment of Roman soldiers at Capharnaum (Lc 7: 1-10; Mt 8: 5-13) stresses the importance of the village as a crossroad for many travellers leaving and entering the Tetrarchy of Herod Antipas. Besides, Capharnaum controlled at least 8 km of the lake shore, from the springs called today et-Tabgha to the upper Jordan river. Even today this side of the lake is particularly rich for fishing. It is perhaps not by chance that many disciples of Jesus were fishermen. It is also significant that Peter and his brother Andrew left their hometown Bethsaida across the lake and settled in Capharnaum as a more fitting place for their fishing activity.

Agriculture was highly developed. Excavations have brought to light olive presses, grinding stones for wheat and cereals, mortars, stone bowls and craters etc. These tools mostly of basalt stones were made in Capharnaum itself, as can be proved by several unfinished pieces; and they were considered as a precious family heritage. Another industrial activity of the village was the manufacture of glass vessels.

Excavations

An appreciable portion of the ancient village has been excavated since 1968, providing an insight to the living quarters. The private houses so far excavated are rather unpretentious but by no means poor, al least according to the living standard of an ancient village. They also betray no sharp economic differentiation. Local volcanic basalt stones in their natural state were used to build walls and pavements. Walls were built without true foundations, and the one storey rooms could hardly reach more that 3 m in height, judging from several staircases leading to the roof. Fairly regular courses were levelled with small pebbles and soil, but with no help of strong mortar, at least in the Hellenistic and Roman periods; even in the Byzantine period mortar was employed only in some cases, and not as a rule.

Light roofs made up of wooden beams and of beaten earth mixed with straw covered the squat rooms, and they were reached from open courtyards through a flight of stone steps.

Dwellings of Capharnaum

The private houses consisted of several units following a fairly standard pattern with minor differences; several roofed rooms clustered around a large open courtyard. Actually the open courtyard was the focal point of a house. Its conspicuous size in comparison to the small roofed rooms was dictated by the climatic conditions of Capharnaum where in summertime the temperature lingers around 35 degrees. The squat roofed rooms received light from a series of windows facing the inner courtyard. They were used as shelters, for sleeping at least in the rainy season, and as a place where the inhabitants kept their belongings; whereas many daily life activities took place in the courtyard. Grinding stones and ovens for instance are always found in the courtyard. Here women fixed the meal; here the artisans worked and probably here too people used to sleep in the summertime on stretched mats on the floor.

Hygienic facilities, such as wash-rooms, drainage systems etc., did not exist. Neither can we find in Capharnaum water cisterns as in Korazin, or underground silos as in Nazareth. The proximity of the lake is responsible for this lack. A house of this kind with many roofed rooms around a common courtyard entered from the public street through a single doorway, most probably was shared by two or more kindred families living in a patriarchal fashion.

Courtyard

Not all the buildings of the village follow this standard pattern; several structures were uncovered along the E side of a large NS street flanking the synagogue where the characteristic hovens and stone steps set in the large courtyards are missing. Most probably many of these units facing the main street of the village are to be interpreted as shops.

The general layout of the houses by no means conveys an image of a haphazard rural settlement; to the contrary, we can visualise a large village where merchants, artisans, farmers and fishermen built their dwellings according a harmonious plan. The main streets run in a NS direction and are intersected at right angles by small alleys, in a Hellenistic-Roman pattern of "cardo maximus" and "decumani". Finally the intersection of the NS streets and the EW alleys created several blocks or city-quarters which we call "insulae".

plan of excavations



© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capernahum MainOther Santuaries  


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created / Updated Monday, December 17, 2001 at 18:41:13 by John Abela ofm
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer