© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Index
  * Préface
  * Evangiles
  * Sondages
  * Le nom
  * Identification
  * Description
  * Périodes
  * Habitants
  * Synagogue s.4
  * Synagogue s.1
  * Ins. siècle
  * Maisons
  * Domus-ecclesia
  * L'église
  * Conclusion

 FOUILLES
 * 2000 - 2003

 ARTICLES
 * Maison de St Pierre
 
  * Image 1
  * Image 2
  * Image 3
  * Image 4

LE VILLAGE: LES HABITANTS

D'après l'évêque S. Epiphane, jusqu'au IVe siècle de l'ère chrétienne, la population de Capharnaüm était entièrement juive: "La coutume qui interdit à toute race différente d'habiter avec eux [c'est-à-dire avec les Juifs], est particulièrement en vigueur à Tibêriade, à Diocésarée [Sepphoris], à Nazareth et à Capharnaüm. " D'autre part, des passages de la Mishna soulignent que, pendant les trois premiers siècles de l'ère chrétienne, la population juive de Capharnaüm se composait de deux blocs: les Juifs orthodoxes et les Minim, ou hérétiques. D'après le contexte, il est clair que ces Minim de Capharnaüm étaient des Juifs convertis au christianisme, c'est-à-dire des judéo-chrétiens.

The boat

Le "bâteau de Jésus". Une ancien bâteau retrouvé dans le lac

Avant la seconde révolte juive de 135, cette communauté chrétienne de Capharnaüm a même atteint la haute sphère du judaïsme orthodoxe et elle a essayé de convertir à la secte le rabbi bien connu Hanina, neveu du célèbre rabbi Jehoshua: "Hanina, fils du frère de Jehoshua, arriva à Kephar Natum. Les Minim jetèrent un sort sur lui et le firent monter sur un âne le jour du sabbat. Il retourna chez son oncle Jehoshua, qui le frotta d'huile et le guérit. R. Jehoshua lui dit: 'Puisque l'âne de cette personne perverse [Jésusl s'est acharné sur toi, tu ne peux plus habiter la terre d'Israël. Il s'en alla donc à Babylone, où il mourut en paix." (Midrash Qoh Rabba, 1,8.)
Deux siècles plus tard, entre la fin du IIIe siècle et les premières décennies du IVe siècle, les judéo-chrétiens de Capharnaüm s'étaient tellement multipliés que Rabbi Issi de Cêsarée était allé jusqu'à maudire les habitants de ce village. C'est ainsi qu'il explique le verset Qoh VII, 26 en se référant aux Minim: "Celui qui plaît à Dieu est Hananya, le neveu de Jehoshua; le pécheur, ce sont les fils [habitants] de Kefar Nahum." (Midrash Qoh Rabba, VII, 26.)
Nous ne devons pas en conclure qu'à cette époque tous les habitants de Capharnaüm étaient des Minim, mais R. Issi ne pouvait pas prononcer cette lourde sentence contre "les fils de Kefar Nahum", si les Minim ne formaient qu'une partie insignifiante du village.
Il est difficile de dire exactement quand et dans quelle mesure les chrétiens de la Gentilité ont supplanté la communauté judéo-chrétienne de Capharnaüm. Il n'y a pas l'ombre d'un doute, que l'église octogonale est l'oeuvre des pagano-chrétiens et qu'elle remonte au milieu du Ve siècle.
A l'époque byzantine, les Juifs orthodoxes continuaient à vivre à Capharnaüm à côté des chrétiens, dont nombre, entre-temps, augmentai considérablement. Cette forte augmentation chrétienne parmi les habitants de Capharnaüm se trouve clairement étayée par les découvertes archéologiques: dans n'importe quel secteur du village fouillé jusqu'à présent, la plupart des maisons possédaient des bols d'importation, marqués d'une croix.

Bowl

Fragment de poterie retrouvée a Capharnaüm avec croix estampillée

Au début du VIle siècle, soit au début de la période arabe, beaucoup de maisons étaient laissées à l'abandon et menaçaient ruine, ce qui laisse supposer le départ de la vieille population de Capharnaüm, tant juive que chrétienne. Comme il en est de même de la synagogue et de l'église octogonale, il semble que les nouveaux arrivants étaient principalement musulmans.


© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capharnaum principal Autres Sanctuaries 


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created/Updated October, 2005 by John Abela ofm, E.Bermejo, E.Alliata, Marina Mordin
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer

© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Main
  * Welcome
  * Gospels
  * Surveys
  * Name
  * Identific.
  * Village
  * Occupation
  * Inhabitants
  * 4 cent. Syn.
  * 1 cent. Syn.
  * Insula
  * Houses
  * Domus Eccl.
  * Church
  * Conclusion

 EXCAVATIONS
  * 2000 - 2003


 ARICLES
  * The House
 
  * Pictures 1
  * Pictures 2
  * Pictures 3
  * Pictures 4

THE VILLAGE - inhabitants

St. Epiphanius informs us that until the fourth century A.D. the population of Capharnaum was entirely Jewish: "This praxis, forbidding any one of a different race to live among them (i. e. among the Jews) is particularly followed in Tiberias, in Diocaesarea (i. e. Sepphoris), in Nazareth and in Capharnaum". On the other hand, some passages of the Mishna stress that the Jewish population of Capharnaum during the first three centuries of the Christian era formed two distinct and antagonistic blocks: Orthodox Jews, and Minim or heretics. From the context it is clear that those Minim of Capharnaum were Jews converted to Christianity, i. e. Jewish-Christians.

The boat

The Boat - a contemporary fishing boat recovered from the lake

Already before the second Jewish Revolt of 135 A.D. this Jewish-Christian community of Capharnaum had reached even the high sphere of Orthodox Judaism by converting to the sect rabbi Hanina, the nephew of the famous rabbi Jehoshua. "Hanina, son of the brother of Jehoshua, came to Kephar Nahum, and the Minim worked a spell on him, and set him riding on a ass on the Sabbath. He came to Jehoshua his friend, and he put ointment on him and he was healed. He (R. Jehoshua) said to him: Since the ass of that wicked one (i. e. Jesus) has roused itself against thee, thou canst no longer remain in the land of Israel. He departed thence to Babel, and he died there in peace" (Midrash Qoh Rabba I:8).

Two centuries later between the end of the third and the first decades of the fourth century, the Jewish Christians of Capharnaum had substantially increased to the point that Rabbi Issi of Caesarea cursed the inhabitants of the village. "Rabbi Issi of Caesarea explained this verse in reference to Minuth...Good is Hananijah, nephew of R. Jehoshua; bad is the population (ad litteram: the sons) of Kefar Nahum" (Midrash Qoh Rabba VII: 26).

We cannot jump to the conclusion that all the inhabitants of Capharnaum were Minim at that time. On the other hand R. Issi could not pass this heavy sentence against "the sons of Capharnaum" if the Minim constituted just an insignificant segment of that village.

It is difficult to tell when exactly and to what extend the Gentile-Christians (i.e. Christians converted from the gentiles) supplanted the Jewish-Christian community of Capharnaum. There is however no reasonable doubt that the mid-fifth century octagonal church was built by Gentile-Christians.

In the Byzantine period Orthodox Jews kept living in Capharnaum alongside Christians who in the meantime increased considerably. The sharp increase of Christians among the inhabitants of Capharnaum is clearly documented by archaeological findings; in fact, in any sector of the village so far excavated, most of the houses were provided with imported bowls having stamped crosses.

Bowl

A bowl with a stamped cross unearthed at Capharnaum

In the early seventh century many houses were abandoned and left to ruin, suggesting that the old population of Capharnaum, i.e. Jews and Christians alike, left the site. The fact that in the early Arab period both the synagogue and the octagonal church were abandoned seems to suggest that the newcomers were predominantly Moslems.



© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capernahum MainOther Santuaries  


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created / Updated Monday, December 17, 2001 at 18:35:08 by John Abela ofm
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer