© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Index
  * Préface
  * Evangiles
  * Sondages
  * Le nom
  * Identification
  * Description
  * Périodes
  * Habitants
  * Synagogue s.4
  * Synagogue s.1
  * Ins. siècle
  * Maisons
  * Domus-ecclesia
  * L'église
  * Conclusion

 FOUILLES
 * 2000 - 2003

 ARTICLES
 * Maison de St Pierre
 
  * Image 1
  * Image 2
  * Image 3
  * Image 4

CONCLUSION

Les fouilles récentes ont éclairé d'un jour nouveau le site biblique de Capharnaüm. Une grande partie des quartiers habités sont à présent visibles; les deux édifices publics, - la synagogue et l'église octogonale, - sont remis dans leur contexte physique et historique.
De ces fouilles a émergé une image complexe. A première vue, les deux édifices publics apparaissent hors de proportion avec les besoins d'un village et forment contraste avec la simplicité des quartiers habités. La population pondérée de Capharnaüm ne semble avoir épargné aucun effort pour faire ressortir la prééminence absolue des valeurs spirituelles.
Des visiteurs se montrent stupéfaits aussi de trouver une synagogue juive et un sanctuaire chrétien l'un à côté de l'autre. Il est certain que la situation des deux édifices publics a étê dictée par le souci de conserver le caractère sacré des deux sites: l'église octogonale perpétuait l'emplacement exact de la maison de Pierre et la synagogue de la fin du IVe siècle s'élevait sur les mines de synagogues antérieures.
Plus surprenante encore s'est révélée la date que nous avons attribuée à la synagogue blanche: la fin du IVe siècle de l'ère chrétienne. Des savants n'ont pas voulu croire qu'une telle synagogue monumentale ait pu être construite sous le règne des empereurs chrétiens. Nos fouilles ont eu l'heureuse conséquence de provoquer de nouvelles recherches sur les synagogues monumentales de Galilée. Il s'est avéré que ce type de synagogue était même encore érigé au VIe siècle, comme c'est le cas de la synagogue de Nabratein. En résumé, beaucoup de théories, dans le domaine archéologique comme dans le domaine historique, se sont désagrégées à la suite de nos recherches dans l'ancien village de Capharnaüm. Nos découvertes se sont naturellement montrées d'un grand intérêt pour les exégètes comme pour les historiens du christianisme primitif.
Enfin, les ruines remises au jour constituent dorénavant un livre ouvert au profit des visiteurs et des pèlerins qui viennent chercher dans ce site biblique un contact personnel avec "la ville de Jésus".

homage

Omaggio a Padre Virgilio Corbo,
il francescano che ha dedicato la sua vita allo scavo della Città di Gesù

Bibliographie essentielley

KOHL H.-WATZINGER C., Antike Synagogen in Galiläa, Leipzig 1916.
ORFALI G., Capharnaüm et ses ruines, d'après les fouilles accomplies à Tell-Houm par la Custodie Franciscaine de Terre Sainte (1905-1921), Paris 1922.
CORBO V., Cafarnao. Vol. I. Gli Edifici della città, Jerusalem 1975.
LOFFREDA S., Cafarnao. Vol. II. La Ceramica, Jerusalem 1974.
SPIJKERMAN A., Cafarnao. Vol. III. Catalogo delle monete della città, Jerusalem 1975.
TESTA E., Cafarnao. Vol. IV. I graffiti della Casa di San Pietro, Jerusalem 1972.
TZAFERIS V. ET ALII, Excavations of Capernaum. I: 1978-1982, Winola Lake, Indiana 1989.



© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capharnaum principal Autres Sanctuaries 


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created/Updated October, 2005 by John Abela ofm, E.Bermejo, E.Alliata, Marina Mordin
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer

© franciscan cyberspot


 MENU
  * Main
  * Welcome
  * Gospels
  * Surveys
  * Name
  * Identific.
  * Village
  * Occupation
  * Inhabitants
  * 4 cent. Syn.
  * 1 cent. Syn.
  * Insula
  * Houses
  * Domus Eccl.
  * Church
  * Conclusion

 EXCAVATIONS
  * 2000 - 2003


 ARICLES
  * The House
 
  * Pictures 1
  * Pictures 2
  * Pictures 3
  * Pictures 4

A FINAL THOUGHT

Recent excavations shed a new light on the biblical site of Capharnaum. A large portion of the living quarters were exposed; and the public buildings, namely the synagogue and the octagonal church, were set again in their physical and historical contexts.

A complex picture emerged. At first glance the two public buildings appear out of proportion to the needs of a village and in striking contrast to the unsophisticated living quarters. Apparently the sober inhabitants of Capharnaum spared no effort to stress the absolute pre-eminence of spiritual values.

Visitors are also puzzled in finding a Jewish synagogue and a Christian shrine side by side. To be sure, the location of the two public buildings was dictated by the preoccupation of preserving the sacrality of both sites; the octagonal church in fact was built in order to perpetuate the exact location of St. Peter's house; and the late fourth century white synagogue rose on the remains of older synagogues.

Even more striking was our dating of the white synagogue in the late fourth century A.D. Some scholars found it unbelievable that such a monumental synagogue could be built under Christian emperors. Fortunately our excavations prompted new research concerning the monumental synagogues of Galilee. It turned out that this type of synagogue was still erected as late as in the sixth century A.D., as it is the case for the Nabratein synagogue. In short, many theories both in archaeological and historical fields fell apart after our investigation of ancient Capharnaum. Of course our discoveries were of great interest both to Scripture scholars and to those who are concerned with the early stage of Christianity.

Finally the unearthed remains are by now an open book for any visitors and pilgrims who come to this biblical site for a personal contact with the town of Jesus.

We must also note that further excavations have beien carried out in 2000 and 2001.

homage

An homage to Fr. Virgilio Corbo
the friar who dedicated his life to excavate the Town of Jesus

Selected Bibliography

KOHL H.-WATZINGER C., Antike Synagogen in Galiläa, Leipzig 1916.
ORFALI G., Capharnaüm et ses ruines, d'après les fouilles accomplies à Tell-Houm par la Custodie Franciscaine de Terre Sainte (1905-1921), Paris 1922.
CORBO V., Cafarnao. Vol. I. Gli Edifici della città, Jerusalem 1975.
LOFFREDA S., Cafarnao. Vol. II. La Ceramica, Jerusalem 1974.
SPIJKERMAN A., Cafarnao. Vol. III. Catalogo delle monete della città, Jerusalem 1975.
TESTA E., Cafarnao. Vol. IV. I graffiti della Casa di San Pietro, Jerusalem 1972.
TZAFERIS V. ET ALII, Excavations of Capernaum. I: 1978-1982, Winola Lake, Indiana 1989.



© copyright 2001. Text written by Fr. Stanislao Loffreda ofm. Reproduction, retrieval or redistribution of this material is not permitted without prior permission of the author reachable at the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum (sbfnet@netvision.net)



  Capernahum MainOther Santuaries  


 

Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Created / Updated Monday, December 17, 2001 at 18:35:36 by John Abela ofm
Web site uses Javascript and CSS stylesheets - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex

© The Franciscans of the Holy Land and Malta

cyber logo footer