Places of Section 10

The Sinai Desert and Egypt

140. The (city) of Nikiu - (Zawiet Razin)

A walled city with one main gate and four towers. Two churches with porticoes (or are they windows instead) are shown inside the city wall.

Province of Egypt, 23 cities under an Augustalis: Alexandria, Ermopolis, Menelaites, Metelis, Bouto, Kabasa, Sais, Naukratis, Andron, Nikiu, Xois, Phragonis, Pachnenunis,Diospolis, Sebennutos, Onuphis, Taua, Cleopatris, Kuno, Busiris, Oasis, Elearchia, Paralos. (Hierocles, Synecdemos, 723:6-726:2)

Map Section 10 Ancient Sources Discussion

logo logo

Created Saturday, December 16, 2000 at 10:26:33
by Eugenio Alliata ofm in collaboration with Stefano de Luca ofm
Webmaster: John Abela ofm - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex
copyright - Studium Biblicum Franciscanum - Jerusalem 2000